Did Shahrukh Khan deserve to win 3 trophies at Zee Cine Awards

Zee Cine Awards 2012 has just concluded and once again it is actor Shahrukh Khan who shone and basked in the limelight. This is despite the fact that his films were heavily panned by critics and audiences alike (especially Ra One) but then his star power is enough to make the jury eat out of his hands.

Shahrukh Khan anchored the show (alongside ‘Don 2’ co-star Priyanka Chopra) and had the spectators laughing and rolling with his trademark wit. However, when SRK hosts an award show, he is bound to receive a trophy and once again Zee Cine Awards just couldn’t stop themselves from handing out the Best Actor (jury) award to the ‘Ra One’ actor. Zee Cine just can’t afford to displease SRK. Now, can they?

And so, the highly panned movie ‘Ra One’ was also adjudged the Best Action Film and the Best Marketed Film. That’s 3 trophies in one night for the star actor whose much hyped superhero film was a big disappointment. Whoa, applause!

Vidya Balan, who simply sizzled the screen with her bold avatar of Silk in Ekta Kapoor’s ‘The Dirty Picture’, simply had no competition this year and she walked away with the twin trophies of Best Actress award (in both Popular and Jury categories). Ranbir Kapoor received the Best Actor (Popular) for his acclaimed acting in ‘Rockstar’. Best Film (Popular) trophy was handed to ‘Rockstar’ while Best Film (Jury) was given to ‘The Dirty Picture’. Imtiaz Ali bagged the ‘Best Director’ trophy for ‘Rockstar’.

Salman Khan, despite having a more successful year than his arch rival SRK, failed to big even a single trophy. (Zee Cine just couldn’t afford to displease Shahrukh, now could they)?

The night, though, was full of mirth, frolic and performances as the hot sizzlers like Shahid Kapoor, Katrina Kaif and Ranbir Kapoor set the dance floor on fire.

Some other winners and their respective categories are as follows:

  1. Best Debut Actress- Parineeti Chopra for ‘Ladies vs. Ricky Bahl’
  2. Best Debut Actor- Rana Daggubati for ‘Dum Maaro Dum’
  3. Best Supporting Actress- Swara Bhaskar for ‘Tanu Weds Manu’
  4. Best Supporting Actor- Farhan Akhtar for ‘Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara’
  5. Best Debut Director- Siddique for ‘Bodyguard’
  6. Song of the Year- Chammak Challo from ‘Ra One’

Add Comment